Sri Lanka 217-7 in their first innings at tea in second Test

Posted on

Sri Lanka 217-7 in their first innings at tea in second Test
Rain stopped play in the second Test between West Indies and Sri Lanka in Antigua. (Photo courtesy David Greene)

NORTH SOUND – Armed with the second new-ball, pacers Jason Holder and Alzarri Joseph struck for West Indies before rain forced an early tea in the second Test against Sri Lanka in Antigua.

Holder removed Niroshan Dickwella for 21 and Joseph scalped Suranga Lakmal for six, and the Sri Lankans were 217 for seven at the break, replying to the Windies’ first innings total of 354, on the third day of the match at the Sir Vivian Richards Stadium.

When the rain interrupted for the third time on the day, Pathum Nissanka, a century-maker in the first Test, was not out on 23 and Dushmantha Chameera was not out on zero.

Play resumed about 45 minutes later than scheduled, after the players took lunch early because of the weather.

On resumption of play, frontline off-spinner Rahkeem Cornwall and part-timer Jermaine Blackwood bowled 10 balls between them before West Indies captain Kraigg Brathwaite claimed the second new-ball after the 84th over of the Sri Lanka innings and had rich rewards.

Holder struck in the fourth over with the new cherry, when he had Dickwella caught behind off the inside-edge, a decision confirmed after the Windies successfully reviewed umpire Joel Wilson’s decision.

Three overs later, Joseph tightened the Caribbean side’s grip, when he had Lakmal caught at short mid-wicket, miscuing a whip, to sink the Sri Lankans to 214 for seven.

Only seven balls were possible following Lakmal’s dismissal before another shower forced the players off the field.

Joseph has so far been the most successful Windies bowler with two for 44 from 16 overs.

Summarised scores:

WEST INDIES 354 (Kraigg Brathwaite 126, Rahkeem Cornwall 73, Kyle Mayers 49, Jason Holder 30, Alzarri Joseph 29, Jermaine Blackwood 18; Suranga Lakmal 4-94, Dushmanth Chameera 3-69).

SRI LANKA 217 for seven (Lahiru Thirimanne 55, Dinesh Chandimal 44, Dhananjaya de Silva 39, Pathum Nissanka 23 not out, Niroshan Dickwella 21, Oshada Fernando 18; Alzarri Joseph 2-44).